Balc. R10°
4.8 (6 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: First Union Center, Wilkes Barre, Pennsylvania
Date: Thursday, 21st November 2002
Never-Ending Tour Concert #1489
Disk 1 (Tracks 1-12) (71 minutes)
Disk 2 (Tracks 13-20) (59 minutes)
  1. Maggie's Farm
  2. I'll Remember You
  3. Highway 61 Revisited
  4. Accidentally Like A Martyr
  5. Things Have Changed
  6. Brown Sugar
  7. Never Gonna Be The Same Again
  8. It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
  9. Girl Of The North Country
  10. Cold Irons Bound
  11. Shelter From The Storm
  12. Old Man
  13. Honest With Me (clipped)
  14. Just Like A Woman
  15. High Water
  16. Mutineer
  17. Bye And Bye
  18. Summer Days
  19. Blowin' In The Wind
  20. All Along The Watchtower
Number of discs: 2
Running time: 02:10
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
This is an alternate source of the show also listed here as It is not as good in terms of focus/colors, but overall more professionally shot, and thus a better viewing experience in the eyes of some. Like, two video sources were used for the upgrade.
Sound upgraded with LB 0809 (A-) (same as that used for
Slight glitch at 46:52 (Track 9) of Disk 1 fixed with 1 sec. still.
Brief still at 1:01:07 (Track 11) of Disk 1 for unknown reason.
Disk 2 has clips of Tracks 13 and 19 . Track 13 fixed with footage from, Track 19 fixed w/ still shot.
Taper used a variety of long and close shots capturing each of the players as they took solos. Thus, a '5' for distance.
A slide show with special effects was inserted to start Disk 1 during the introductions. Special effects also close out Disk 1 and are used at the beginning and end of Disk 2.

Without a doubt, the fall 2002 tour is one of Bob's best of all time, and this show is no exception. The band is on fire from the opening notes of Maggie's Farm to the apocalyptic ending of All Along the Watchtower. The cameraman tends to focus on Bob at the piano with Tony and George wedged in the background, but also benefits from an amazing angle at which to tape Charlie Sexton's guitar playing, which he takes almost full advantage of and which will no doubt please serious guitar players like myself.

Highlights include a rockin' Highway 61 Revisited and an intense Watchtower which includes the most intense Charlie solo I have ever heard. I highly recommend this show to all fans of the fall 2002 tour, or live Dylan in general

Thanks to jman for the discs, and sorry it took so long for the review (it escaped my mind).

Reviewed by MysteryTramp on 21st August 2006

This is an excellent show-i really liked the cover tracks-Brown Sugar and Old Man.
Must have for fans of Bob Dylan.

Reviewed by bonb on 15th June 2006

» Read all 4 Reviews