Balc. L30°
4.8 (13 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Park West, Chicago, Illinois, USA
Date: Tuesday, 26th October 1999
  1. Introduction
  2. Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  3. The Times They Are A-Changin' [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  4. Desolation Row [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  5. Girl From The North Country [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  6. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  7. All Along The Watchtower [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  8. I Want You [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  9. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues [02:02 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  10. Not Dark Yet [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  11. Band Introductions [2 sec. audio cut after "Thank you!"/2 sec video cut to compensate/1 transition; 2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync]
  12. Silvio [:02 shaky cut at start; shaky :19 prior to next song cut; 2:08:05 of video cut by filmer prior to next song/audio cut to match/1 16:14 still/1 green fog effect/1 fade in transition]
  13. Love Sick [2 sec. cut @end for a/v sync/fade out transition]
  14. It Ain't Me, Babe [closing thanks/1 jpeg still w/Ken Burns effect/1 transition; 10:21 applause from cut after Silvio added to end program]
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:11:40
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Master mini dv>svideo out>avi>MPEG_Streamclip_1.8b2>dv>iMovieHD>iDVD5.
Sound upgraded with excellent LB-3743.
LB-3743>Toast 6.07 image>Sound system 3>wav>iMovieHD>PCM 48 khz/16 bit.
Audio was cut by audio editor ~2 sec. before each song to fit on one CD. Video was cut accordingly by video editor to maintain a/v sync.

This is one of the best audience dvds I have seen. The taper has done a great job - no heads, practically no shakes, good colour and focus, and nicely framed shots that pan a little and zoom a little to follow the action and provide variety; thankfully no jerky camera movements to distract from the music.

And the music is very good indeed - you can tell from the way Bob moves that he's really into it and enjoying things. Vocally he's on excellent form - he delivers each song like he just wrote it, in other words the songs sound fresh, with little twists in the phrasing that show he isn't going through the motions. Needless to say his band of this time (the best?) add a huge amount to the overall effect.

The sound is mostly rich and and warm, although to my ears there was a drop in sound quality for 'Not Dark Yet', which sounded thinner for some reason. But that's just an observation.

Highly recommended. Thanks to all involved in this beautiful production.

Reviewed by orangespaceship on 09th December 2007

Bob started his 1999 Fall tour with a double show on October 26th at the small capacity Park West in Chicago before continuing the tour with Phil Lesh. Together with its companion DVD,, we now have to relive this tour start again. As far as I am able to tell these videos are, if not completely, then atleast largely, uncirculated for 8 years until they were masterfully sound upgraded and authored by Yassou in september of 2007. For that we must be most very grateful.

What we have here are two videos that are shot by someone that really knows how to utilize the camera. You will find no shots of neither the ceiling nor the floor (or if I missed any they are really rare) and with the film being shot from the balcony no audience members are obstructing the view. Furthermore, it's very much in focus and gives a perfect view of the entire band. The shows are almost completely captured except for I Am The Man, Thomas and bits of To Ramona which are nicely restored using stills. Both setlists are short but sweet (12 songs) and amazingly with no songs repeated between the shows(!) Among highlights for me are the 3rd spot which is shared between Desolation Row and Visions Of Johanna, a breathtakingly beautiful Not Dark Yet, Blind Willie McTell and Tombstone Blues plus the fact that both shows starts with strong acoustic parts that I love so dearly from other shows from the 1999/2000 era. Needless to say, both picture quality (off the master) and the sound is excellent. Zoom is used but not much but isn't required either. The camera man that is very close to the stage. and should to be in the collection of every DVDylan collector. Due to the skills of the camera man and the sound-upgrader we have here a wonderful 2DVD set of 24 unique songs that only gets better and better on each time I watch them over again.

Thanks to all involved!

Reviewed by MisterClive on 27th September 2007

Exceptionally clear transfer, all around highly recommended 'new' 1999 flick.


Reviewed by jman on 14th September 2007