Balc. L40°
4.2 (5 votes)
DVDylan ID: D124
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Brixton Academy, London, UK
Date: Thursday, 30th March 1995
Concert #656 of the Never Ending Tour
  1. Crash On The Levee (Down In The Flood)
  2. If You See Her, Say Hello
  3. All Along The Watchtower
  4. Jokerman
  5. Every Grain of Sand [last three lines missing]
  6. Positively 4th Street
  7. Mr Tambourine Man
  8. Masters Of War
  9. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  10. God Knows
  11. Stuck Inside Of Mobile
  12. I Believe In You
  13. Like A Rolling Stone
  14. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  15. I Shall Be Released
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:40:24
Video standard: Both PAL and NTSC versions are available
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
This footage is available in much better quality as D124.m. Worth seeking out the upgradeElvis Costello on vocal and guitar on 'I Shall Be Released'

Trying to review this dvd is a good example of how subjective these reviews can turn out..The picture is'nt the sharpest,there's very little panning of the band-just Bob,filmed from the left I think(although occasionally JJ or Tony will wander into Bob's space,or he theirs and the camera will follow..) And yes it's very dark( although I think this gives the atmosphere a really mysterious feel).
Inspite of all this the Spring '95 tour was one of the great ones and the show captured here is a very good example of the tour:Bob in great voice,good humour and very cool stage moves..we're still a couple of years away from the wobbly legs and creeping up to the mic routines!!
The show starts a little slow but the run of songs from a perfectly phrased "Every Grain Of Sand" to a beautifully tender "Love Minus Zero.." is perfection..And you really do have to hear the harmonica on "Mr Tamb. Man" shame first Bob's head! and then the picture (momentarily) is lost during this song..Things tail off a little in the 2nd electric set but the performances are never less than good..
Maybe not a film for everyone but for the hard-core it is well worth having..I find it makes great,late night viewing..not so good during daylight hours..but that's just me!Ta again 'T.U.I.D'.

Reviewed by Bobfan1 on 03rd May 2006

Watched this this afternoon and was pleasantly surprised how much i enjoyed it.
Never been to keen when Bob does his impression of Adam Sandler in the wedding singer and stands at the mike singing away but on the whole very enjoyable.
Visually not brilliant, a little dark in places, picture lost for a short while in one place.
Sound wise excellent i watched the upgraded hi-fi version and this was very good indeed.
Favorite tracks, all were good but particularly enjoyed - Jokerman, Positively 4th Street, Masters of War, LMZ - NL and although song not one of my favourites and not performed very well it was good to see Elvis (That's Costello not Presley) duet with the man.
Overall a very pleasant hour and a half to watch and listen to.
Please enter freebie on main board and if you win share your thoughts with us on this very good Dvd.

Reviewed by babbling on 16th August 2005

» Read all 5 Reviews