Floor L10°
4.5 (10 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Hammersmith Odeon, London, England, UK
Date: Sunday, 4th February 1990
"A HW Sound Upgrade"
an "HW Sound Upgrade"
  1. One More Cup of Coffee (Valley Below)
  2. My Back Pages
  3. Political World
  4. I Shall Be Released
  5. What Was It You Wanted?
  6. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat
  7. All Along the Watchtower [cuts after 35 seconds]
  8. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  9. Boots Of Spanish Leather
  10. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
  11. Man Of Constant Sorrow
  12. Everything Is Broken
  13. What Good Am I?
  14. Seeing The Real You At Last
  15. It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
  16. Simple Twist Of Fate
  17. Maggie's Farm

  18. BONUS: He Was a Friend of Mine (Roy Orbison Tribute, 24 Feb 1990)
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:16:15
Video standard: PAL
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

A welcome addition from the London 90 run in the form of another excellent HW production.

Video is hand held, shot from near the front of the floor. Most shots are partially obsured, but almost all of Dylan's performance is captured on screen. Screenshots are accurate sample of what this DVD holds in store. Shakes as are to be expected from hand held footage, but minimally distracting. The songs included on the DVD are complete save Watchtower which is about 15 seconds of the intro.

The video is seamlessly synced with a warm, crisp audience audio recording. Great Source!

Strong performances if maybe a bit routine, an excellent set list to my taste, Dylan looks to be engaged and in full control, especially once the set warms up. My Back Pages was the only tune that didn't quite come together for me. One More Cup of Coffee is no blow off, quite nice indeed. Baby Blue shines, Boots a little less inspired but still nice, great harp work on both. All the acoustic songs are particularly well filmed, as the crowd mellows out a bit. Man of Constant Sorrow is really dynamite, not rushed, full of feeling. Seeing the Real You At Last is no joke either and slides right into a smoky down-tempo 'Train to Cry'. Good stuff.

This one is very much worth checking out, especially for the well performed rarities and favorites,

Reviewed by jman on 11th December 2010

Difficult to disagree with Jman's review. 'My Back Pages' seems to be trunkated through Bob forgetting the words!

The Acoustic songs are indeed excellant with the possible exception of a hurried 'Hattie Carroll' (which is meerly very good!)

There is some great (Clash-ish) guitar interplay 'What was it you wanted?'

The set builds up a head of steam after the acoustic section,'What good am I' 'Train to Cry's'Slow bluesy delivery with 'Rainy day women' type guitar work and 'Simple twist of fate's arrangement which is drum heavy with sparse use of guitars are of particular note.

The bonus track is 'He was a friend of mine' with the Byrds is (I assume) from a Roy Ordison TV Tribute and is just Beautiful in every way.

After viewing the overall effect is very good. The Image is close enough to see the sweat drip towards the end, however there is very little of the band visible and at times the arrangements have very little definition. But perhaps that is being a little over critical of a DVD that is well worth owing.

Reviewed by Mitcham on 20th April 2006