Balc. R40°
4.5 (8 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Stadio Comunale A. Picco, La Spezia, Italy
Date: Friday, 20th July 2001
A Carlo Sound Upgrade
  1. Duncan And Brady
  2. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  3. Mama, You Been On My Mind
  4. Gotta Serve Somebody
  5. Make You Feel My Love
  6. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  7. Masters Of War
  8. Love Minus Zero/No Limit
  9. Tangled Up In Blue
  10. Watching The River Flow
  11. Tonight I'll Be Staying Here With You 
  12. The Wicked Messenger
  13. Cat's In The Well
  14. Country Pie
  15. Like A Rolling Stone
  16. I Shall Be Released
  17. All Along The Watchtower
  18. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
  19. Highway 61 Revisited
  20. Blowin' In The Wind
  21. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
  22. One Too Many Mornings
Number of discs: 2
Running time: 02:02
Video standard: PAL
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
The two DVDs come from the transfer of a non-brilliant second generation copy. The camera is very steady but well back from the stage and gives a good look at the whole band for the whole concert.

This was a great tour, featuring long sets and the one two punch of CS and LC on backing vocals as well as guitars. This night finds everyone well up to snuff, and Dylan's deliveries are solid and enthusiastic. Dylan boogies, highsteps and marches through the set, missing barely a word.
As noted, the video is not off master. the focus is never quite sharp, but good enough to make it clear that the SU is excellently executed. Colors are not bad, pretty life like. The video suffers from some slight pixelation (is that the word) at a few points. The angle from far stage left allows us to observe the entire band most of the time which is quite entertaining . The film is entirely unobstructed and overall easy on the eye.
The audio source and upgrade are absolutely top notch.
Personal highlights included a loose, swinging Serve Somebody and solid rockin Tom Thumbs, both with Dylan on Guitar solo. and of course Heaven's Door with the extra chord change, alternate lyrics, and backing vocals section of hundreds...One Too Many Mornings closer?!..
this set certainly will bear repeated viewing. My thanks and congratulations to the filmer, taper, and author.

Reviewed by jman on 08th March 2006