4.0 (12 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Brixton Academy, London, England, UK
Date: Sunday, 20th November 2005
  1. God Knows
  2. To Ramona
  3. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
  4. Queen Jane Approximately
  5. Til I Fell In Love With You
  6. Stuck Inside of Mobile With the Memphis Blues Again
  7. New Morning
  8. Highway 61 Revisited
  9. Man in the Long Black Coat
  10. Honest With Me
  11. Desolation Row
  12. Summer Days
  13. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right [spliced]
  14. All Along the Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:38
Video standard: PAL
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

I agree with most of the above, with the exception of the criticisms against vocal quality. while reduced to a limited number of notes, bob still finds new phrasing. to ramona is particularly beautiful. man with a long black coat starts off terribly, bob is off rhythm and the melodic lines ill-divided. then it comes together, with several neat executions. new morning also begins dreadfully, but midway bob finds the harmonic gaps into which to fit his voice. desolation row is good, with a stacatto delivery that clips the consonants devisively.
once he finds this approach, though, he is loathe to let it go, and the rendition becomes tiresome before its 12 minutes have passed.
other highlights: queen jane and a spectacularly slow and deeply felt "til I fell in love with you, for me the show's highlight. all in all, a brilliant comeback from the dreadful west coast american shows.
a note on the band: they are playing much less here, and all for the better.

Reviewed by billythekid on 11th February 2006