Balc. R90°
4.5 (12 votes)
DVDylan ID: D628
Recording type: Mixed
City/Venue: Benaroya Hall, Seattle, WA & Chiles Center, Portland, OR
Commercial Bootleg
  1. 10th Anniversary, Benaroya Hall, Seattle, WA (16 July 2005)

    1 Maggie's Farm
    2 Tell Me That It Isn't True
    3 I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
    4 Lay, Lady, Lay
    5 Most Likely You Go Your Way (And I'll Go Mine)
    6 Blind Willie McTell
    7 Watching the River Flow
    8 Ballad Of A Thin Man
    9 I Shall Be Released (duet with Norah Jones)

  2. Chiles Center, Portland, Oregon (11 March 2005)
    (AUDIENCE SHOT) (62:15)

    10 Drifter's Escape [1:40 - four short segued snippets]
    11 It's All Over Now, Baby Blue [3:00 - fragment + 2:50 excerpt]
    12 Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum [5:05 - shaved both ends but essentially complete]
    13 The Times They Are a-Changin' [5:00 - start clipped, otherwise complete]
    14 Down Along the Cove [5:20 - start clipped, otherwise complete]
    15 Things Have Changed [3:45 - start cut; splices]
    16 A-11 [Buck Owens song, written by Hank Cochran; 3:25 - complete]
    17 High Water (For Charley Patton) [5:05 - start cut, otherwise complete]
    18 If Dogs Run Free [6:15 - complete]
    19 Honest With Me [5:15 - first verse cut, splice soon after, then through to the end]
    20 Standing In The Doorway [6:20 - first verse cut (or not sung?)]
    21 Summer Days [3:40 - fragment, then last 2:40]
    22 Sing Me Back Home [by Merle Haggard; a 45 second snippet then the last 1:45]
    23 All Along The Watchtower [5:20 - complete]
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:51:40
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
The Portland show is audience-shot, so don't expect perfection. Still, it's close-up and the sound is very good. There's not much of Drifter's Escape - the taper was either getting set up or security men were watching. Most other songs have small cuts, sometimes in the middle and sometimes due to the guy's habit of shutting off his camera at the end of each song and then turning it on again a bit too late to catch the next one's beginning. After the relatively tame Amazon, you can sense the increased energy level when Bob is playing for his fans. This Portland was filmed from the extreme right of the stage, and during most of it you get a great shot of Bob, along with his pretty fiddle player and other band members, seen from the side. (Uploader, bittorrent, Nov. 2005)

Note: DASH-F star ratings apply to the Portland film only.

[Just was informed that the Portland on this disk is the only source for the 3/11/05 show., D580.2, and D580 are 3/12/05. Thus, review is upped to 4 stars, even if 3/11/05 merits no more than 3 stars.]

Given the fact that the Amazon concert can be found in stellar quality on both D586 and D658, it is difficult for me to justify more than 4 stars. One would do better to obtain Amazon D658, which includes the Norah Jones set. A sound upgrade for the Portland show would also be helpful.

Reviewed by yassou on 06th June 2006

Really suprised this one has'nt recieved more reviews..maybe the footage is available elsewhere..Anyway,forget the fact it isn't the most exciting set-list;forget the fact it is'nt the most awe inspiring peformance from Bob and concentrate on the fact that this is pro-shot footage.Which means perfect picture(although no real close ups of Bob,not sure why..) and perfect sound of Bob in concert just last year.

This is a great dvd to watch and even though it's a shortened set is a pretty accurate portrait of last years concerts.It also highights just how slick,some might say dull,this band are.Highlights include "Blind Willie.." and "Thin Man"..the 'relative' suprises of the set. God, I never though I 'd consider 'Ballad Of A Thin Man' a suprise!!

The Portland footage is bound to suffer in comparison and in truth it isn't a great audience film. Although the picture quality is nice and it is fimed from an unusual angle none of the songs are complete. The audio recording is quite harsh and this is accentuated by the truly horrendous violin playing which is really over-bearing at times.Bob seems to like it tho.

But it really does'nt matter it's the 16.7.05 footage that I would say makes this disc an essential for any dvd collection .Thanks Joz.

Reviewed by Bobfan1 on 30th April 2006