Balc. R20°
4.4 (7 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Theatre de Grand Rex, Paris, France
Date: Tuesday, 30th January 1990
"A HW Sound Upgrade"
Never-Ending Tour Concert #177
  1. Subterranean Homesick Blues
  2. I Want You
  3. Maggie's Farm
  4. All Along The Watchtower
  5. I Believe In You
  6. Where Teardrops Fall
  7. What Was It You Wanted?
  8. Leopard-Skin Pill-Box Hat (cut)
  9. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  10. It's Alright, Ma
  11. The Lonesome Death Of Hattie Carroll
  12. Boots Of Spanish Leather
  13. Seeing The Real You At Last
  14. Political World
  15. Man In The Long Black Coat
  16. Tight Connection To My Heart
  17. Simple Twist Of Fate
  18. Masters Of War
  19. I Shall Be Released
  20. Like A Rolling Stone
  21. Forever Young
  22. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35

  23. BONUS TRACK: Ruges Amerika (from German TV)
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: PAL
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

A single, mostly steady camera near the front of the balcony provides a decent shot of Bob throughout this DVD. Colors are vivid, but focus never quite sharp although it improves some during the set, probably due to distance. early parts of the tape are flawed due to heads, but the filmer did a great job of working around them to provide almost constant coverage of BD and more than a few shots of GS and TG as well.
HW has once again added an excellent soundtrack to this tape, as well as lovely authoring, syncing, and easy functional menus.

As per usual for this tour, the performance starts off on a bit of auto-pilot, decent but not very exciting opening numbers.
Things get a bit more dynamic with an 'I Believe in You' which is well presented by both Dylan and the band, and from that point on the performances are quite interesting, straight through to a lovely acousitic segue from It's Alright Ma into a very nice Hattie Carroll. Man in the Long Black coat stands out as well, more than hinting at the intense versions to come a few years on.

Bob delivers pretty good this night, strong vocals and nice harp work, particularly on Hattie Carroll and Forever Young. Band is also in good form pretty nice dynamic and cohesive work.

Not a must have, especially considering the relatively large # of 1990 DVDs circulating in good quality, but certainly not a waste of your time in the DVD player or your space on the shelf.

Thanks to all involved in bringing it out.

Reviewed by jman on 24th May 2006