4.1 (7 votes)
DVDylan ID: D553
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Vienna, Austria ('81); unknown Europe ('81); Paris, France ('78)
Also known as "VIENNA 1981 + PARIS 1978".

The unknown '81 looks like Avignon 25 July 1981 because Dylan is wearing the same shirt. Comparison with Avignon, however, shows that it is a different concert, most likely from the July leg of the '81 European tour.

The Paris footage is also on D602, where it is dated 5 July 1978.
  1. Vienna 21 July 1981

    - Gotta Serve Somebody
    - I Believe In You
    - Like A Rolling Stone
    - Maggie's Farm
    - Girl From The North Country
    - Ballad Of A Thin Man
    - In The Summertime
    - Shot Of Love
    - Forever Young

  2. Unknown (Europe) 1981

    - The Times They Are A-Changin'
    - Let's Begin
    - Lenny Bruce
    - Slow Train
    - Mr. Tambourine Man
    - Solid Rock
    - Just Like A Woman
    - Heart Of Mine
    - When You Gonna Wake Up?
    - In The Garden

  3. Paris 1978

    - Baby, Please Stop Crying
    - Mr. Tambourine Man
    - It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
    - Tangled Up In Blue
    - Ballad Of A Thin Man
    - I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
    - Like A Rolling Stone
    - True Love Tends To Forget
    - One More Cup Of Coffee
    - Blowin' In The Wind
    - Masters Of War
    - All Along The Watchtower
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
The '81 material is fair video and sound quality, particularly the unknown concert. The Paris '78 (also on D602) is below average video and sound quality, but acceptable considering its vintage.
All three concerts have numerous clips and cuts, but the editing should make watching at least bearable.

the unknown '81 is same day, 1981.07.21 Vienna,
that day was raining, and he wore the overcoat, I gess,
because I hear he talks, the same talk,
Thank you ladies and gentlemen for coming out tonight. I know it's raining, but I hope somebody's seen the light. I hope I have anyway. I wanna introduce my backing group to you. On the left, Carolyn Dennis. I tell you all these singers make me sound good. I can't sing for nothing'. They make me sound good, and next to her is Madelyn Quebec. From Nashville, Tennessee, Regina McCreary. From Dallas, Texas, Clydie King. On the keyboards tonight, you been listening to him all night give him a hand, Willie Smith. Standing next to him on guitar, Fred Tackett. From New Orleans, Louisiana, on guitar, Steve Ripley. On the drums tonight, give him a hand, Jim Keltner. That's true, that's the real Jim Keltner. On bass guitar, this is also the real Tim Drummond. Well, it's nice to be here. We only got here today an we're leaving tonight. We never been here before I don't know too much of the history of the place, but it's an awful nice. I hope we can come back. (at the end of In The Garden)

Reviewed by jidvinci on 20th August 2007

Watched this this morning, after a sleepless night, and found it hard work, particularly the Paris section
Overall i gave this dvd 3*'s because IMHO it is one to have and for the time period, nearly 30 years old some of it, perhaps not surprising that the quality is not the best.
But overall the disc is quite enjoyable, if that is not too much off a contradiction.
The reason for this is the fact that Bob is quite animated and even passionate on most off the songs featured.
Visually hard work, Audio not the best, but song selection is excellent and varied both his "gospel" and "popular" songs well represented
The unkown venue section was the best for me, Just Like a Woman was very good, Heart of Mine and When you Gonna Wake up were both sang with feeling and even one could say with soul.
Well thats my 2 penny worth - freebie available on general board if you want to see it and make your own mind up on this one and then share it with the rest of us.

Reviewed by babbling on 16th July 2005

The Paris Footage has been identified as 3/7/78...

Reviewed by jman on 24th May 2005