4.0 (2 votes)
DVDylan ID: D522
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Mannheim, West Germany & Avignon, France
Shot Of Love Tour Concerts # 22 & 27

    - Ballad Of A Thin Man
    - Like A Rolling Stone
    - Forever Young
    - The Times They Are A-Changin'
    - Let's Begin
    - Lenny Bruce
    - Mr. Tambourine Man
    - What Can I Do for You?

  2. AVIGNON, FRANCE (25 JULY 1981)

    - I Believe In You
    - Like A Rolling Stone
    - Till I Get It Right (sung by Regina McCreary)
    - Maggie's Farm
    - Girl From The North Country
    - Ballad Of A Thin Man
    - In the Summertime
    - Shot Of Love
    - The Times They Are A-Changin'
    - Let's Begin
    - Lenny Bruce
    - Slow Train
    - Mr. Tambourine Man
    - Solid Rock
    - Just Like A Woman
    - Watered-Down Love
    - Jesus Is The One
    - Heart Of Mine
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
There are many clips and cuts, but the technical quality makes this one worth having. See also D570.

This DVD provides the existing source for these two dates in the highest quality available yet.
The Mannhiem features the same songs as in circulating versions. The Avignon footage is not as complete as #D107, but is clearly of a higher generation.
The authoring is absolutely beautiful, on behalf of us all, thanks to the author!

I'm a big fan of the 1981 tour; wonderful mix of the gospel songs and older stuff, and one of Dylan's greatest bands ever.

If you are a fan of this period, or just looking for a DVD from the 1981 tour, this is a great choice.


Reviewed by jman on 10th March 2005