Balc. R10°
2.0 (1 vote)
DVDylan ID: D354
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Indiana State Fairground Grandstand, Indianapolis, Indiana
Date: Friday, 15th July 1988
Never-Ending Tour Concert #25
  1. Subterranean Homesick Blues [mostly cut]
  2. Just Like A Woman
  3. John Brown
  4. Masters Of War
  5. Tangled Up In Blue
  6. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again
  7. It Ain't Me, Babe
  8. Trail Of The Buffalo
  9. Don't Think Twice, It's All Right
  10. I Shall Be Released
  11. Silvio
  12. Like A Rolling Stone
  13. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  14. All Along The Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: There is no information about DVD menus/chapters

First, take that star rating with a grain of salt: I am a newbie, and this is actually the first audience-shot DVD I've ever seen. But I'll try to describe both the picture quality and the performance.

This DVD appears to have been shot from the balcony. Thus, there are almost no obstructions -- aside from several times when the camera is either covered or tilted toward the ceiling by mistake. (This happens only 3 or 4 times, though, and each lasts only a few seconds.) The balcony vantage point means that there are no closeups. You get one camera shot -- a straight-on view that covers about three-quarters of the full stage, showing Bob and several band members.

The sound is a bit muffled, and some folks don't like the G.E. Smith era, but I saw a show on this tour and liked it, and I like this DVD as well. The performance is pretty inspired for the first half, a bit less so on the closing stretch. The Masters is particularly fine, and I'm a fan of the electric Tangled and the acoustic It Ain't Me as well.

All in all, I doubt anyone would consider this an essential disc. But if you like this era, or are curious about it, you may well enjoy this disc.


Reviewed by dusablecoach on 03rd August 2004