5.0 (13 votes)
DVDylan ID: D344
Recording type: ProShot
Two-DVD set. "A HOJO Production"
  1. DISK ONE, 1975 (Music from Renaldo and Clara)

    - When I Paint My Masterpiece
    - Isis
    - A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
    - People Get Ready
    - It Ain't Me, Babe
    - It Takes A Lot To Laugh, It Takes A Train To Cry
    - Cucurrucucu Paloma
    - Romance In Durango
    - House Of The Rising Sun
    - One More Cup Of Coffee (Valley Below)
    - Sara
    - Never Let Me Go
    - Tangled Up In Blue
    - Just Like A Woman
    - Knockin' On Heaven's Door

  2. DISK TWO, 1976 (Hard Rain)

    - Bob Harris Introduction
    - A Hard Rain's A-Gonna Fall
    - Blowin' In The Wind
    - Railroad Boy
    - Deportee
    - I Pity The Poor Immigrant
    - Shelter From The Storm
    - Maggie's Farm
    - One Too Many Mornings
    - Mozambique
    - Idiot Wind
    - Knockin' On Heaven's Door
Number of discs: 2
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Renaldo & Clara: quite good technical quality. Not ideal but better than e.g. D003 or D340
Hard Rain: very bright and natural colours. Not as sharp as Japanese version ( but clearly better than D005

I remember turning the TV on and looking forward to seeing 'Hard Rain' on the 'Old Grey Whistle Test'
I'm pretty certain that I didn't have a video recorder to record it at the fact,I can't remember if anyone did at that time! However, soon after I had my own copy
to play as much as I wanted .....and I have! at least a couple of times a year since. The transfer to DVD seems to be an improvement too.
Possibly one of the best 'Idiot Winds' and there's also 'Deportees''One Too Many mornings' and 'Hard Rain'.....where Bob instructs the rest of the band to expand the number of bars in the chorus as the song is being played!
Picture is clear with plenty of colour and the close-ups don't get any closer than this.I can't believe there's a Bob fan out there who wouldn't enjoy this.
As to the other disk in this set,this is the music from 'Renaldo And Clara'
I think Camden,London was the only cinema to show the film and I made my way down to London to see it.... I sat through the whole 4 hours not really knowing what it was all about.
Channel 4 Television later broadcast the whole thing late one night and I was able to get my own copy....this is probably the source of the DVDs that circulate of the film nowadays.....the TV company,not me!
Picture quality ,colour and sound not as good on this as the 'Hard Rain'but well worth having. The Rolling Thunder tours from 1975/76 are one of Bob's best periods (IMO) and this set is a great way to experience it.

Reviewed by 11DollarBills on 10th January 2006

Ok - first review from a Dylan novice!

I had only ever seen clips of Renaldo and Clara through my dad and not being the biggest Dylan fan in the world there were a few songs I was unfamiliar with, but overall I loved it, stand out tracks for me were Hard Rain which was very lively and energenic, and two great versions of One More Cup of Coffee and Sara and an acoustic Tangled for good measure with Just Like A Woman and Heavens Door wrapping things up nicely. I would give this an 8/10 I will need to give this a few more plays. Great Sound and Picture quality.

As for Hard Rain, this is the Holy Grail for me! Countless time my dad would get back from the pub and put his video of this on (which flickered betwen black & white and colour)
I love this from start to finish and it's magic to see this in such great picture and sound quality. Hard rain and Blowin have a slow country rock feel backed up by the ever soulful Joan Baez, Railroad Boy is brilliant as well, the weakest song for me is Deportee - but it's still good! Having not seen this for a while I actually had the hairs on my neck stand up as I Pity The Poor Immigrant kicked in and you don't get much better than that. The versions of Shelter From The Storm and Idiot Wind are the best versions I've ever heard and after nightclubs we used to put these songs on inbetween Oasis, The Stone Roses and various others which bemused a lot of the girls at these parties but we did manage to get a few of the lads into Dylan with these two songs alone. I can't praise this highly enough 10/10 every time! Can I just say a massive thank you to Carine for sending me these discs - my dad and my Uncles Pat and Ted will love this once I get a DVD-RW!!!

Reviewed by Shug-Sludden on 06th August 2005

It doesn’t get any better than this! Picture and sound quality are excellent although the Renaldo & Clara sound has a loud noise/hiss that isn’t there on the versions of this on the Genuine Telecasts, so I don’t know if this is just my copy that has it or if all do but that’s a minor issue. To me this is the Holy Grail. The Renaldo & Clara performances are what I was originally searching for when I discovered this fantastic site. If this is all I ever had I’d be completely satisfied, this is Bob at his peak as far as I’m concerned. To see him do “Tangled up in Blue” with the whiteface; it’s all I’ll ever need. Hard Rain is just fantastic it’s hard to believe there is a better version. “Railroad Boy” & “Deportee” are newfound favorites. Get this, you’ll be very happy. Thanks simon for sharing this!

Reviewed by johnbrown on 20th May 2005