Balc. L10°
3.5 (4 votes)
DVDylan ID: D289
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Paramount Performing Arts Center, Springfield, MA, USA
Date: Friday, 12th October 1990
  1. To Be Alone With You [clipped]
  2. Lay Lady Lay
  3. All Along The Watchtower
  4. Stuck Inside Of Mobile With The Memphis Blues Again
  5. Highway 61 Revisited
  6. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  7. Gates Of Eden
  8. Desolation Row
  9. It Ain't Me, Babe
  10. Under The Red Sky
  11. Wiggle Wiggle
  12. Seeing The Real You At Last
  13. Willing
  14. In The Garden
  15. Like A Rolling Stone
  16. Blowin' In The Wind
  17. Maggie's Farm [ending distorted]
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:15
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

I liked this DVD the first time I watched it and every time I see it grows on me. As for performance goes Dylan is on fire. An almost rocking Baby Blue and Gates of Eden. But, when the time is right he delivers the most beautiful Desolation Row and precise It Ain’t Me Babe that I’ve heard him do. Then back to the Rocking Dylan, one can almost feel his teeth on Seeing The Real You At Last, Then into the sublime. A rare Willing. He just looks so cool with his black acoustic guitar. The video quality is fair and a bit dark, but that won’t stop you from enjoying it. The shot is steady, tight and close up. I feel the only thing that lacking is that there is precious few shots showing the band. G.E. Smith is right on musically with Dylan as opposed to the ramblings of some of his shows with him. The whole band is energetic. 1990 was a year that a Dylan show was a hit or miss affair; as this disk show oh so well, that night was a HIT.

Reviewed by mickym67 on 21st December 2008