DVDylan ID: D260
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: NY, Hammmerstein Ballroom
Date: Wednesday, 20th August 2003
Never-Ending Tour Concert #1552
  1. Maggies Farm
  2. Senor
  3. Tweedle Dee and Tweedle Dum
  4. Watching the River Flow
  5. Things Have Changed
  6. Highway 61 Revisited
  7. This Wheels on Fire
  8. You Ain't Goin Nowhere
  9. Just Like Tom Thumb's Blues
  10. Cold Irons Bound
  11. Lonesome Death of Hattie Carroll
  12. Honest With Me
  13. Mr. Tamborine Man
  14. Summer Days
  15. Like a Rolling Stone
  16. All Along the Watchtower
  17. Rainy Day Women #12 &35
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Average performance but very well filmed
Sound-upgraded version available: #D260.sse

Pleasant, steady and close. Good sound.

Another fine video recording of Dylan´s NYC shows in summer 03, likely by the same taper as the other two (12th and 13th August), since it´s made from almost exactly the same spot (balcony, left side of the stage, Dylan is seen in profile). Sadly it´s not quite up to the masterful recording from the 13th, as there´s some sharpness lacking throughout and the camera sadly pans away from the Dylan too often and funnily confuses the guitar players sometimes (when Freddie´s doing a solo we see Larry etc.). But it´s a joy to watch this nevertheless. We see splendidly intense performances of "Senor", "You Ain´t Goin´ Nowhere" and "Hattie Carroll" (during which Dylan´s strange behaviour on stage can be seen in detail - between all verses he steps back from the keyboard and seems to be searching something only he knows of). Absolutely worth getting.

Reviewed by honestwithme on 03rd January 2004