Balc. L50°
4.5 (13 votes)
DVDylan ID: D259
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: NY, Hammmerstein Ballroom
Date: Tuesday, 12th August 2003
Fantastic show & superb performance.
With special guest Nils Lofgren (E Street Band)
  1. Silvio
  2. I Don't Believe You
  3. Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum
  4. It Ain't Me, Babe
  5. Things Have Changed
  6. Watching The River Flow
  7. Love Sick
  8. Highway 61 Revisited
  9. Make You Feel My Love
  10. Drifter's Escape [spliced]
  11. Moonlight
  12. Honest With Me
  13. It's All Over Now, Baby Blue
  14. Summer Days [first two verses missing]
  15. Like A Rolling Stone
  16. All Along The Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Warning: different quality versions from the same source are circulating! The good one is almost perfect, the other one is noticeably squeezed (see screenshots) and quite noisy. As of June 2008, look for new, improved

Pleasant, steady and close. Good sound.

Out-freakin'-standing! I only have a handful of DVDs, but I've seen my share of VCDs and VHS tapes and this is the best non-proshot video I've seen. The camera is close on Dylan, but scans the rest of the band very well. The audio is great, the lighting is nice. I have nothing but good things to say about this whole disc. Brilliant plus something.

Reviewed by Joe1235 on 27th May 2004

We all can thank the unknown (?) taper to have made such overall splendid recordings of these three NYC shows in summer 03. Here we have the first one on which Nils Lofgren makes a terrific guest appearance and adds an own flavour to the band´s sound (he plays Dylan´s guitar from 2001, by the way, the one that has his name engraved on the fretboard). The position of the camera is more or less the same on all three shows, it´s placed on a balcony on left side of the stage so that Dylan is seen in profile throughout. The camera work isn´t as precise and inspired as on the second show (13th August) since it pans around the stage a bit too much (for my taste anyway) and focusses sometimes on the wrong guy when a solo is played. But these are minor objections, the overall impression is a very good one. Starting with a powerful "Silvio" (effective, slightly altered arrangement), Dylan and his four gunmen (+ Lofgren) establish a very high level they never fall below, delivering a manic "Things Have Changed", a hilarious and wonderfully blues-rocking "Watching the River Flow" and one monster of "Highway 61" that sees everyone in full force and inspiration. A great document of a memorable stint at the Hammersmith Ballroom. Highly recommended.

Reviewed by honestwithme on 03rd January 2004