Balc. L20°
4.3 (4 votes)
DVDylan ID: D1062
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Springfield, Massachusetts, USA/Symphony Hall
Date: Monday, 2nd February 1998
Concert # 951 of The Never-Ending Tour
Concert # 15 of the 1998 Winter Tour
1998 concert # 15
Concert # 98 with the 11th Never-Ending Tour Band

Special thanks for the master Hi8 tape to TOM P. & RAYGUN.
Additional thanks for the audio to THE UNIDENTIFIED TAPER & OUTSIDETLAW.
Edited, sound upgraded and authored by YASSOU.
  1. Introduction [missing video/fade in to opening titles over still]
  2. Absolutely Sweet Marie [47:24 useable (but shaky) footage/stills used for the rest]
  3. SeƱor (Tales Of Yankee Power) [2:43:04 useable footage/stills used for the rest]
  4. Can't Wait [all useable except for 53:27/2 stills]
  5. Shooting Star [mostly useable/beginning and end shaky & obstructed/4 stills added; shooting star effect added at start; fadeout to black still]
  6. Silvio [mostly useable/beginning and end shaky-obstructed-cut/8 stills; fadeout to black and other still]
  7. Cocaine Blues [mostly useable but shaky; clipped-shaky start/3 stills; fadeout to black still]
  8. Masters Of War [mostly useable but shaky-obstructed; clipped-shaky start/3 stills; obstr. 57:16 in middle/1 still; fadeout to black still]
  9. Tangled Up In Blue [a/v sync probs. throughout; unfocused start/1 still; 10-frame still @41:59:20 for a/v sync; cam bump (?) @46:13:10/31:32 still added; CD split after this song]
  10. Blind Willie McTell [only 1:35:13 useable footage/8 stills]
  11. Band Introductions [clipped 8:14/1 still]
  12. Highway 61 Revisited [only have 1:45:13 useable footage/4 stills; ending cut 3:25:02/8 stills]
  13. End Thanks & Credits [end thanks/credits/salute over 6 stills from outside of venue w/fadeout to Dylan salute jpeg; used applause from LB-9181 bonus tracks to fill ending]
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:02:22
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Disk author's rating: 3+/5/3-/4+/4+

Filmed by Tom P. with unknown camera
unknown camera>Hi8 tape>Sony DCR-TRV480 NTSC Hi8 camera>MacBookPro>iMovie 6.03

Song 9 ("Million Miles) totally obstructed; songs 12-15 missing on video source ("'Til I Fell In Love With You," "It Ain't Me, Babe," "Love Sick," " Rainy Day Women # 12 & 35")

LB-9181>MacBookPro>flac>xACT 2.20>aiff>Toast Titanium 11.0.4>disk images>Audacity 2.0.0 (-1% speed correction)>iMovie 6.0.3.

EDITING & AUTHORING: Audio and video assets edited on MacBookPro in iMovie 6.0.3; authored, multiplexed and burned to VIDEO_TS folder in iDVD 7.1.2 (Professional Quality 2-pass variable bit rate encoding)

This is yet another film from the trusty hand of Tom P., sourced from the master Hi8 videotape. It's unfortunately incomplete and suffers from frequent obstructions, unsteady patches, and cuts. Despite the challenges, Mr. P. managed to capture enough video for the disk author to work with, and did so with enough panning and zooming to give all the players their due. The stellar upgrade soundtrack also mitigates the deficiencies, so it's definitely worth a look and listen by fans of Dylan's excellent Winter 1998 tour. Dylan is wearing a large white cowboy hat, so the shot from the high left balcony affords few shots of our man's face. But there's no mistaking the power of his songs and delivery, most notably on display during the acoustic set and "Can't Wait." A special treat for me is "Shooting Star," a song that grows more poignant as the years pass by.

4+ Stars

Reviewed by yassou on 06th December 2012