Balc. R30°
4.3 (3 votes)
DVDylan ID: D097
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Gorge Amphitheatre, George, WA, US
Date: Saturday, 16th May 1998
With guest appearances of Joni Mitchell and Van Morrison.
  1. Absolutely Sweet Marie
  2. If You See Her, Say Hello
  3. Cold Irons Bound
  4. Simple Twist Of Fate
  5. Silvio
  6. Cocaine Blues
  7. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  8. Tangled Up In Blue
  9. 'Til I Fell In Love With You
  10. I Shall Be Released (with Van Morrison & Joni Mitchell)
  11. Highway 61 Revisited
  12. It Ain't Me, Babe
  13. Love Sick
  14. Rainy Day Women #12&35
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:27
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

The steady cameraīs centered slightly right to the stage and has a great view. The taperīs approach is somewhat severe since he focusses on maybe 2/3 of the whole stage (Larry, Bob, David, Tony) throughout and never ever zooms, so that one doesnīt see anyone at a close range - which I most admit to miss somewhat here. Anyway, itīs a mighty fine show from the short after-South-America, before-Europe californian tour (8 dates) that features memorable versions of "Sweet Marie" (highly energetic), "If You See Her", "Cocaine" and an "I Shall Be Released" during which Joni Mitchell and Van Morrison make a true surprise appearance - Dylan who already sung one verse looks pretty troubled, even more than with "Soy Bomb" some months earlier! He letīs them sing a verse each (Joni spoils it completely) and joins the microphone with Van ... Nice to have this DVD.

Reviewed by honestwithme on 06th February 2004