4.0 (1 vote)
DVDylan ID: D083
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: University Of Pennsylvania, Indiana, Pennsylvania, USA
Date: Tuesday, 22nd April 1997
Never-Ending Tour Concert #870
  1. Lay Lady Lay [cut]
  2. All Along The Watchtower
  3. Shelter From The Storm
  4. Pledging My Time
  5. Silvio
  6. Oh Babe, It Ain't No Lie
  7. Mr. Tambourine Man
  8. Tangled Up In Blue
  9. The Wicked Messenger
  10. Shooting Star
  11. Maggie's Farm
  12. I Shall Be Released
  13. The Times They Are A-Changin'
  14. Rainy Day Women #12 & 35
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:46
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with proper chapter marks are circulating

Five stars are maybe a bit much here, but for everyone who´s interested in watching Dylan in 97 from close distance and "deciphering" what he fingers on his guitar, this is the video recording to get. The stable camera is placed on a balcony and "looks" center stage, focussing on Dylan in medium shot or close-up throughout. I love this recording for Dylan´s outlook alone ... somewhat chubby (in a nice way), dressed in a white tuxedo-like suit and tight black pants, having a WILD hairstyle, he´s just gorgeous to watch. The band (who´s sadly never seen) backs him in a great way (man, how great John Jackson was!), so that we can witness some outstanding performances: a warm and perfectly grooving "Lay Lady Lay" (fantastic vocals), an exemplary mid-90´s "Watchtower", a rare, bluesy "Pledging My Time", the NET-debut of "The Wicked Messenger" and, maybe the highlight of the whole show, a subtle and yearning "Shooting Star" after which one has the feeling that something important just has happened ... The short and tight encore set ("I Shall Be Released", "Times", "Rainy Day Women") rounds up the show in a majestic way.
Sadly the first song, "Absolutely Sweet Marie" is missing from the recording.

Reviewed by honestwithme on 03rd January 2004