Balc. L60°
4.6 (17 votes)
DVDylan ID: D061.hq
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Queens Wharf Events Centre Arena, Wellington, New Zealand
Date: Monday, 24th February 2003
Never-Ending Tour Concert #1500
  • WELLINGTON 24 Feb 2003 (68:30)
    - Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum [last 2:45 only]
    - I'll Be Your Baby Tonight
    - Highway 61 Revisited
    - Lay Lady Lay
    - Things Have Changed
    - Drifter's Escape
    - My Back Pages
    - Desolation Row
    - Don't Think Twice It's Alright
    - It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
    - Positively 4th Street [start clipped]
    - Honest With Me [first minute + a short snippet only; on menu as "fragments"]
  • BONUS (8:30)
    - Slideshow + audio All Along The Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:14
Video standard: PAL
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

Nice clear, steady picture with brilliant sound.
Bob gives a strong performance and i think this is one of the best 2003 dvds i've seen.
The setlsit is good and the highlights are Things Have Changed and Desalation Row is brilliant!

Reviewed by Josepi on 18th May 2007

I just got this one in and it is worth a review for sure. This line-up was much-maligned at the time and I always felt unjustly so. Some of the great music on this DVD also puts those judgements to shame. But first: the quality etc issues. This is rated above as 4 stars for steadiness and I think that is a touch generous, it is very shaky at the starts and ends of tracks, at the beginning disturbibgly so. Still in the meat of the songs the camera is quite nicely focused on Bob, and we get to see the others in a wider shot too. The sound is quite acceptable for an audience recording, slightly boomy due to the venue acoustics but with the vocals way out front and clear.

But the real reason for writing this review is the stunning acoustic set during which I realised how much I miss Bob's guitar playing. I never thought I would write those words after listening to innumerable out-of-key, endless solos during the 90's, but he plays a great, minimal solo on "My Back Pages", and you can clearly how his singing was influenced by his guitar lines and vice versa. "Desolation Row" and "Don't Think Twice" are also excellent, the latter featuring another fine Bob acoustic solo. I must say that the electric stuff was less inspiring, but still high energy. I thought Burnette held his own fine, although he sure did not take his eyes off Bob! All in all a solid 4 stars and perhaps 4 and a half for the acoustic set. Great to see this one, thanks Ben!

Reviewed by hkdave on 07th October 2005