4.3 (21 votes)
DVDylan ID: D047
Recording type: ProShot
  1. In The Garden
  2. Just Like A Woman
  3. Like A Rolling Stone
  4. It's Alright Ma (I'm Only Bleeding)
  5. Girl From The North Country
  6. Lenny Bruce
  7. When The Night Comes Falling
  8. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  9. I'll Remember You
  10. Knockin' On Heaven's Door
Number of discs: 1
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Several different authored versions are circulating.

I agree, although some of the performances are dated by the 80's treatment they got, I think the Rolling Stone on this one is viciously good. BD seems to be feasting on every word the song contains. It's Allright Ma' is equally stunning and delivered with ferocity. Who can say that he is "imitating himself"? Lenny Bruce is better than usual. I love it when Bob puts his behind him to stop the band from coming in during the intro to Knockin' On Heaven's Door. Although, better and more songs could have been used, every Dylan fan needs this!

Reviewed by jokerman2669 on 02nd February 2008

I have always thought that the video quality of a dylan dvd is insignificant; That the performances themselves are what is important . But I have to say that this DVD changed my mind The audio and video quality on this DVD is superb. I was particularly impressed by the unique camera angles

Great line up of songs with the exception of “When the Night Comes Falling from the Sky”.
However, this is not the Dylan that I have come to expect. Its as if he is attempting to play the role of Bob Dylan . However he plays it well. Nice performances of “Its All Right Ma”, “Lenny Bruce” and “Girl of the North Country” . The highlight of this dvd for me is his performance of “Knocking on Heavens Door”. “ Get me outta here, to some other place” is a revealing line sung with conviction. Maybe he was in a creative slump or maybe he was temporarily sickened from the horribly plastic musical wasteland that was the 1980’s. Great harmonica at the beginning of the song.

thanks to Babbling and to Joshua ( sorry I don’t know your DVDylan name) for your kind generosity

Reviewed by bandd1 on 10th November 2005

I love this performance, and feel that it was filmed and recorded brilliantly as the video package originally said it was.

We are very lucky to have this quality performance to go back to through the years and decades. Even the song selection they got right.

Between this video and the Westwood One radio recordings, we have the finest live documents period of Bob's career.

Perfection is a hard thing to achieve, and here we have it.

Reviewed by hiptune on 21st May 2005