Balc. R40°
4.5 (31 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Nassau County Coliseum, Uniondale, NY, USA
Date: Monday, 13th November 2006
Never-Ending Tour Concert #1905
  1. Introduction
  2. Maggie's Farm [clipped 1' 50" /10-still slideshow]
  3. She Belongs To Me
  4. Honest With Me
  5. Spirit On The Water
  6. It's Alright, Ma (I'm Only Bleeding) [2-frame still for a/v sync]
  7. When The Deal Goes Down
  8. High Water (For Charley Patton)
  9. Visions Of Johanna [3-frame still for a/v sync]
  10. Rollin' And Tumblin'
  11. Ballad Of A Thin Man
  12. Tangled Up In Blue
  13. Nettie Moore
  14. Highway 61 Revisited  
  15. Thunder On The Mountain [clipped 2'28"/11-still slideshow; 21-frame still for a/v sync]
  16. Like A Rolling Stone [1-frame still for a/v sync]
  17. Band Introductions
  18. All Along The Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Running time: 01:47:14
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating
Sound upgraded with excellent LB-4284 ("Bach" recording).
DVD source>iMovieHD>iDVD5.

I remember reading a thread on rec.musicdylan awhile ago pondering on Bob's ever changing stage position;now we know why,it's to fool the bootleggers! As noted below on previous tours the cameraman would've had a perfect position, unfortunately this time we mostly get Bob's back. Whether that's a small or major irritant will depend on your own personal taste,but that apart this is an excellent dvd.

The picture is great, lots panning,and good sound,but it is the performance that really makes it a keeper.I haven't been a big fan of the last two years touring,mainly down to three factors: the decline in Bob's vocals the horrible blandness of the band,and the never ending rehashing of his 60's repertoire.Well things seem to have changed. Dennie Freeman's lead guitar is excellent, no more playing the same solo at the same tempo whatever the song;witness an excellent 'Honest With Me' and especially,'It's Alright Ma..'but the band as a whole are finally playing with some edge.However it's hard not to feel sorry for Stu Kimball,stuck right out on the edge of the stage,reduced to playing barely audible rythmn..Then again on the basis of how he plays perhaps his new status is more fitting!

Bob's singing is much improved doubt the new songs help keep the inspiration flowing, but where has the upsinging gone? I really miss it...And now the set is no longer rooted in the 60's,oh and Bob has stopped his really silly 'old man' shuffle to the center of the stage to blast a few toots on the harmonica. In fact the harmonica playing is the only negative aspect of the performance,not that its's bad; just that it never varies in melody or tempo regardless of the tune.....

Highlights include :'Honest With Me'(honestly!),'Spirit..'(surpringly enough as it is the one song I really dislike on the album),which has now replaced,'It's Alright Ma..' as the standard audience participation know the line! the new songs in general are all impressively performed,although I would've preferred 'Workingman Blues' on the setlist rather than 'When The Deal Goes down'. There is also a very good, slightly re-arranged 'Tangled...'which illustrates just how much the band has improved.

All in all a fine dvd which bears repeated viewing. many thanks to 'Freewheelin' for sending me this.

Reviewed by Bobfan1 on 16th February 2007