4.5 (8 votes)
DVDylan ID:
Recording type: Audience
City/Venue: Binghamton University Events Center, Binghamton, New York, USA
Date: Sunday, 14th November 2004
Never-Ending Tour Concert #1694
  1. Down Along The Cove
  2. God Knows
  3. I Shall Be Released
  4. Things Have Changed
  5. Tweedle Dee & Tweedle Dum
  6. Lay, Lady, Lay
  7. I Don't Believe You (She Acts Like We Never Have Met)
  8. High Water (For Charley Patton)
  9. Po' Boy
  10. Highway 61 Revisited
  11. Not Dark Yet
  12. Honest With Me
  13. Tangled Up In Blue
  14. Summer Days [cut]
  15. Like A Rolling Stone
  16. All Along The Watchtower
» Toggle additional (technical) track info
Number of discs: 1
Video standard: NTSC
Authoring: DVDs with menu and chapters are circulating

This recording, taken from the tail end of the year, makes a nice contrast when compared with Freddy has left the band to be replaced by Stu Kimball and although his playing is generally fine both 'Highwater' and 'Highway 61 Revisited' suffer from a lack of fire; a worrying indication of what was to come perhaps.

On the plus side the show does start with a good 'Down Along The Cove' with its 'Kick you when you're up and knock you when you're down' reference to the much earlier 'Hard Times in New York Town'. The version of 'God Knows' that follows is pretty good too but then I always like to see songs from 'Under The Red Sky' on the play list, I only wish Bob would resurrect '2X2'. There is also a fine 'Not Dark Yet' with Bob crooning the melody rather than attempting to recreate the half spoken/half sung vocal of the recorded version. However Bob's vocals are noticeably rougher than earlier in the year and both 'I Shall Be Released' and 'Lay,Lady,Lay' (time to put this one to bed Bob!) although musically sound, suffer accordingly.

Technically the show is very well filmed, steady - with intermittent panning and lots of close ups of Bob. Althought the curse of the amateur filmer does strike during the relatively rare performance of 'Poor Boy' when for one of the few times during the concert the camera zooms out and remains that way for a good duration of the song. What makes the dvd a real keeper, and one you will return to, though is the amazing audio track; easily the best I have heard on any dvd. In fact the audio is so good that when I played this dvd straight after viewing an official Rolling Stones one( ok it was the new 'Bigger Bang' release- I know...I know...)there was none of the auditiory adjustment that is usually necessary needed. A deserved four stars! Many thanks to 'White Dove' for sending me this.

Reviewed by Bobfan1 on 03rd September 2007

The show started out with a nice version of "Down Along the Cove", with Bob in good spirits and good voice. "God Knows" was a pleasant 2nd song, and it looked like the boys were having some fun on this one. After the first two songs I knew I was in for a treat of a DVD...good picture, awesome sound.

For the most part of the show, I'd say 90%, the taper does an excellent job of getting right on Bob with no intrusions. At times you may wish for a little more of the band in view, but it does not distract from the quality in my oppinion.

As this DVD is a sound upgrade, there is not too much to add except I thought the piano was mixed in beautifully.

Finally, for the performance review, a quick synopsis will do...ON FIRE!! Bob seemed to be in complete control on this night, and songs such as "Po'Boy", "God Knows", and "Tangled up in Blue" just furthered the PLEASE NEVER QUIT BOB phylosophy. On Tangled..Bob just absoluteley nails the song, even though leaving out some of my favorite verses. It has just been very rare to hear him hit this song so right on with the Piano arrangment. However, that did not matter on this night as the song regained some of the power it had from the 2000-2001 concerts.

To conclude, please get this DVD if you can. This will be a most welcome addition to your collection.

Reviewed by bluesguy on 23rd March 2006

» Read all 5 Reviews